Now that Labor Day is over, it’s time to get back to laboring. But first, I hope you all had a good holiday weekend. It’s so nice to be able to celebrate an American holiday in America — that’s one of those little things that I have really come to appreciate over the past few years.

This weekend was about relaxing, hanging out with friends and decompressing from the week. Usually, weekends are chock-full of brunches, shopping trips and going out with friends, so it was nice to take it easy this time around.

What did you do for Labor Day? I spent most of the afternoon in my apartment cleaning up, putting away laundry and enjoying the sunlight pouring in through the glass balcony doors. I finally got myself out of the apartment to pick up a pair of shoes. This girl’s been hurtin’ for a good pair of black heels for quite some time. It took trips to two Nine West stores, but I am now the proud owner of the only pair of size 6 1/2 Expoze shoes left on the Eastern seaboard. By the time I left the Georgetown shop, I was feeling pretty lucky. (And tall. Those shoes push me up to 5″5.) I hit up CVS to grab some chips and salsa for a barbecue and managed to snag the last bag of tortilla chips in the store. Needless to say, I was in high spirits by the time I got to the barbecue. Thanks to Zvi for offering up his office’s rooftop. (Insert shameless plug here.) Thanks to Gabi for grilling up food, to Alex for orchestrating everything and to everyone else for coming out.

Talia and Alex mug for me.

The winner of the evening was the peach salsa, purchased from the nice Korean lady at the Dupont farmer's market. Topped my chicken with it and wanted to die of happiness.

Checking out the view from the roof.

Zuss and Alex dig in.

Zvi looks like he's in pain, but really, he's blown away by the perfect weather and amazing food.

After dinner, we split up and Gabi, Dina and I headed to James Hobans for a drink. The weather was perfect, the wine was chilled and the company was stellar. The evening ended on a good note as we said goodnight at the Metro, then got even better when I ran into newlywed friends Annie and Josh (who met five years ago when the three of us were Avi Chai fellows together), and better yet when I bumped into Katie and Kevin (also Avi Chai friends), who were picking up dessert from Kramerbooks.

Gabi looking like a spray-tan victim. I promise you, he isn't. Poor street lighting and Blackberry camera = orange Gabi.

Now that we’re back to the daily grind (if only for two days–thanks Rosh Hashanah!), I’m back to going to sleep early and waking up with the sun. I’m really looking forward to a short trip home this week and seeing family and friends (and, of course, Precious the cat).

