Oh, she’s in Washington, D.C. Apparently moving here has severely impacted my ability to blog. So what have I been up to the past two months?

Well, my first week here, I had all the evils spirits in me sucked out by a Mexican shaman.

No really, I did. Becca had a month to kill before moving to China (to teach English, because she is my protegee), so she became my partner in tourism. After all, what’s the point of living in the nation’s capital if you don’t take advantage of all of the great (and free) stuff the city has to offer?

The photo above was taken at the Smithsonian Folklife Festival in June. We began that day with Burmese food in Chinatown and made our way down to the mall after. Also included in the afternoon: Laotian dancing.

Becca was a great companion. We also hit the National Portrait Gallery and the Museum of American Military Jewish History, some of the monuments and the White House. (I have yet to go to the top of the Washington Monument. Now that Becca is in Shanghai, who wants to do this with me?)

Being a full-time resident means getting to do the things I’ve seen in friends’ photos and read about on Facebook and Twitter for years and hadn’t been able to partake in. I was charged with grand theft at the Museum of Crime and Punishment, then watched real bad-ass gangsters Bonnie and Clyde at Screen on the Green (balancing out the previous week’s law-abiding 12 Angry Men). I took in the Capitol Fourth Concert rehearsal in front of the Capitol Building, followed by the fireworks the next night from Jon and Kevin’s roof.

Georgetown from the roof

When I wasn’t being a tourist or hanging out on people’s roofs, I was likely meeting up with friends for brunch/dinner/happy hour. Highlights: mole chicken at Oaxaca, a hot dog topped with mac and cheese at Mad Hatter, pite at new brunch favorite Rosemary’s Thyme. I rose to the rank of Foursquare mayor of Dupont’s Thai Sushi Chef. I had my first Julia’s empanada, my millionth Kramerbooks butternut squash ravioli and I even tracked down the Curbside Cupcake truck. (Note: Still waiting for them to come up to Dupont.) Living in Korea, it was difficult to get real, authentic specialty foods. Here in Washington, everything I want is within a five-block radius, and I am very appreciative of that (though my wallet may not be).

Mole chicken at Oaxaca

The past two months have also been about catching up with friends. I haven’t lived in the same place as them for two years, so figuring out where we fit into each other’s post-college lives has been an adventure. I’m lucky to have a great, supportive circle of friends here, and they’ve helped me make the transition from flighty traveler to permanent resident much smoother.

I will work harder to blog more frequently. I might not be dying of E.coli in India or surfing in Phuket or sampling the sushi in Japan anymore, but starting real life in a new city is just as scary and exciting as anything I’ve done in the past, if not more so.

