Long-time readers of this blog will remember my countdowns to the end of my contract in Korea, or as Erin and I referred to them, monthiversaries. Well, today is my sixth monthiversary of NOT being in Korea (with the exception of ten hours in November, inarguably the worst layover of my life), and I’m in the mood to celebrate. It’s been a crazy six months: I’ve hit Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Belize, Guatemala and Mexico; survived a frigid and fairly snow-less winter; and worked a temp job to keep myself from going broke.

Long-time readers of this blog will also remember my summer addiction: Boys Over Flowers. (My original post mistakenly called it “Boys Before Flowers.”) Well, when I left Korea, I brought back with me my biggest vice. On Amazon (and in Koreatown), you can get your hands on volumes 1 and 2 of the series for a hefty $200. In a dusty shop down an alley in Hanoi, Vietnam, the same set can be yours for the low, low price of $5, assuming you can convince the woman working at the store to put in a special overnight order for a version with English subtitles. I bought a lot during my travels, but that was my most precious purchase.

And, to celebrate my six monthiversary, I made another precious purchase. One of the most touching scenes in the series’ 25-episode run is an exchange between F4 leader Gu Jun-pyo and his girlfriend Geum Jan-di, in which he gives her a one-of-a-kind necklace:

The “one-of-a-kind” gift is actually a real necklace, designed by Stonehenge and retailing for $265. Well, I’m not coughing up that kind of cash. I found a replica on ebay and sent it on to my dear sister, who immediately ordered two. (Yes, I turned my impressionable younger sister into a “Boys Over Flowers” convert.)

To see the scene in question, check out the video on MySoju.com. Skip ahead, until there are about two and a half minutes left in the video. It’s subtitled, so you can understand what’s going on. (Sidenote: Sigh, I just watched it again. Totally swooning. I am apparently just as crazy about this show now as when I started watching it over the summer.) A full summary is also available here.

The necklaces should arrive in a few weeks. I usually suck when it comes to holding onto jewelry, but I will keep (and cherish) this necklace forever. After all, as Gu Jun-pyo says, “If you lose it, you’re really dead this time.”

