A year and a half ago I was on a plane, leafing through my complimentary copy of Korean Air and vaguely aware that I was about to embark on the most extreme, ridiculous, random and exciting 14 months of my life. Among the articles and adverts, I found a poem that resonated with me. I ripped the page out of the magazine and kept it in the top drawer of my squeaky metal nightstand (thank you, Korean furniture).

A year later, as I packed up my apartment, I opened the drawer and found the crumpled sheet. I stuck the page into a packed box and mailed it back to the States without giving it a second thought. It took me until Thanksgiving to finally unpack the boxes that had been sitting in my basement all fall. I found the poem, gave it a read and smiled to myself, remembering the first time I read the page, the words resonating with my scared, unsure, excited self. I set the paper on my dresser, and haven’t looked at it since.

This afternoon, in an attempt to find an old photo to aid in answering a burning question, I read through some of my earliest blog posts. I found my first post from Korea, complete with the Korean Air magazine poem, which I will now post here and probably forget about until I stumble upon it again in a few months.

“Whoever you are, wherever you are
Don’t fear your road.
Though it may get lonely,
It’s your path to follow
And has been since you were born.
The color of the sky,
The scent of the wind,
The murmur of the water,
All are wonderful things.
Embrace them as you choose your path.
Feel and do as you will.
Whoever you are, wherever you are,
Your road will eventually find you.”

