It’s been one hell of a year, hasn’t it? In 365 days, I’ve been to nine countries on two continents, held down my first post-college job and baked hundreds of chocolate chip cupcakes. It’s been a good year.

I kicked off 2009 in Seoul, braving frigid temperatures alongside thousands of Koreans. There were fireworks and cotton candy and lots of policemen in storm trooper suits. Suffice it to say that the insanity of New Year’s Eve 2009 set the tone for the rest of the year. This was the year to explore the world, to figure out my limits and push them and to grow in ways I wouldn’t have been able to in America.

You’d think that the travel bug would be kicked by now, but no. After a month and a half in New York, it’s biting again. Any takers on accompanying me to India in March and April? Anybody? Hmm? Bueller? Last year took me across East Asia. Who knows where I’ll wind up this year. 2010, game on.

As far as personal relationships go, 2009 was largely the year of making mistakes and learning from them. I’ve messed up plenty of times, both with friends and romantic partners, and I’m not going to make those same mistakes in 2010. I will also not be dating anyone who carries a gun in his back pocket on our first date. Like I said, lesson learned.

Speaking of things I’m going to do in 2010…my resolution. I don’t ever make them, because I think resolutions are lame. I resolve to get a job, I resolve to lose 10 pounds, I resolve to cut down on my drinking. No. While admirable, those are not things I’ll resolve to do. But I will make one resolution–just one, and hope that over the course of the year, I will accomplish it. I resolve to be braver. I want to say what I mean and do what feels right. If something bothers me, I want to be able to express that. Conversely, when I’m happy, I want to share that, too. I’ve never been good at expressing feelings, and so that’s what I am going to work on this year. I’ll revisit this at the end of December 2010, wherever I am, to see how I’ve made out. I hope that those of you making resolutions have made ones that are cooler than mine.

Here’s wishing all of you a happy, healthy, safe and exciting New Year.

