Because I’ve been crap at blogging since I’ve been back, here is the lazy girl’s “Things I’m Thankful For” list:

1. American food. Actually, any food that isn’t Korean. Food-wise, it’s been a marvelous few weeks, and look forward to sampling as much hummus as possible in the coming months. Do you know how hard it is to get good Italian in Seoul? Do you?? It doesn’t happen.

2. Spending the day with family. Yeah, I put food above family. (Though for what it’s worth, my aunt did make macaroni and cheese for Thanksgiving dinner. If that’s not love, I don’t know what is.) It’s been a year and a half since I’ve seen a lot of my relatives, and today was a fantastic reunion. Also, my 5-year-old cousin can now form complete sentences. I’m beginning to think of her as a real person and not just the adorable kid who would imitate my monkey faces across the dinner table.

3. Not working with orphans. My year in Korea was amazing, don’t get me wrong. As far as work goes, I have no regrets about the past year. But twelve months of donning a stewardess jacket, whipping up chocolate chip cupcakes and teaching kids the correct dialogue to rob a person on the street gets old. I’m thankful for the challenges that the past year has presented me, but even more thankful that they’re over. Though I do sort of miss getting paid to play frisbee and teach aquarobics.

4. Like I’ve said in the past, the year was rough. Losing my grandfather, then several more relatives, my college mentor and boss sucked. Having a strong support system, one that spanned several continents, was crucial. I couldn’t be more thankful for my friends this year, not only for their words of encouragement when I was down, but for calling me out when I did stupid things and joining me on all of my adventures.

What are you thankful for today?

“Forever on Thanksgiving Day
The heart will find the pathway home.”
-Wilbur D. Nesbit

also


I love Thanksgiving turkey. It’s the only time in Los Angeles that you see natural breasts.”
-Arnold Schwarzenegger

(I couldn’t decide which I liked more. Enjoy both!)

