I swear this is my last teenybopper post. No seriously–I need to cool my K-pop jets before I leave Korea. Something tells me that the only people who will appreciate my pre-teen tendencies are the Koreans who own a nail salon in Kingston. And that’s only because I’ll have to take of my shoes, revealing my socks, before I get a pedicure.

 

Song Woo-bin, as well as the Boys Before Flowers writing, on my sock!

Song Woo Bin and the pink Boys Before Flowers logo on my sock!

It should be noted that I now own four pairs of BBF socks–Geum Jan Di, So Yi Jeong, Yoon Ji Hoo and Song Woo Bin. (It should also be noted that I didn’t have to look up any of their names while typing that sentence. True fan right here.) Still looking for a pair of Gu Jun Pyo socks, but haven’t yet found a street vendor that sells them.

The boys (and girls) of F4 are all over Seoul. An afternoon in Myeong-dong resulted in me frantically looking to each storefront for a poster or advert featuring one of the guys. Mimsie can even spout off the names of the guys and the products they advertise for.

 

The love of my life, Kim Hyun Joong. And don't tell me he looks like a girl. I've heard it enough, people.

The love of my life, Kim Hyun Joong. And don't tell me he looks like a girl. I've heard it enough, people.

Even in Hongdae, an hour away on the subway, I know exactly where to find the larger-than-life posters of Kim Hyun Joong:

DSC03091DSC03090

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Even if I didn’t watch the show religiously, even if I didn’t shed countless tears over the Ji Hoo/Jan Di/Jun Pyo love triangle, even if I didn’t spend my breaks chatting up the students about the show, I still would recognize these guys because their faces are plastered all over this city.

 

The SEV nurse has a Kim Bum mousepad!

The SEV nurse has a Kim Bum mousepad!

 

And Gu Jun Pyo at the check out at 7-11!

And Gu Jun Pyo at the check out at 7-11!

Speaking of Gu Jun Pyo/Lee Min Ho, to-scale cardboard cutouts of him are EVERYWHERE:

 

At Dunkin Donuts...

At Dunkin Donuts...

...and absolutely everywhere at Etude House (a women's cosmetics store))

...and absolutely everywhere at Etude House (a women's cosmetics store))

These photos pale in comparison to the recent Anycall commercial featuring three of the guys. Kim Bum, Kim Hyun Joong and Kim Joon all dance around and do weird things with their pointer fingers. Weird? Possibly. Do I care? No, Kim Hyun Joong is still sexy as all hell.

Though the show ended six months ago and there’s relatively no chance of a reunion, the F4 hype hasn’t faded. A few weeks ago we had a student who, at the ripe age of eight, had a perm that added a good four inches to his height. The kids on his team (as well as some of the teachers) called him Gu Jun Pyo all week, and he responded to it every time. Girls still carry around F4 stickers and are quick to try and steal the teachers’ stickers. I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve had to bat away grubby little kid hands from my nametag, the front of which displays not one, not two, but three stickers of Kim Hyun Joong.

I have plenty more pictures that I didn’t post here–Geum Jan Di on boxes of hair dye, lovebirds Yi Jeung and Ga Eul appearing together in ads, the plethora of cell phone charms with pictures of the guys (full disclosure: I own one), calendars, folders, etc. There really is no limit to what can be found in this crazy country, at least pertaining to the men of F4.

Like I said in the beginning of the post, this is my last crazy teenybopper post. At least until Kim Hyun Joong moves to America to study English. I’m throwing my English-tutoring abilities out there. I’ll do this one pro-bono, guys. Call me!

