Melanie’s goodbye party last Sunday gave me the chance to check out an area of Seoul I hadn’t spent much time in. Despite threats of rain, we all met up in Yongsan Family Park, off of Line 4 in Ichon. The park was really pretty and not too big, so finding everyone was pretty easy. (To be fair, one only has to be quiet for a few seconds and listen for Melanie’s voice–the girl is a voice actress and can be heard a mile away.)

 

Even on a cloudy day, the park was gorgeous.

Even on a cloudy day, the park was gorgeous.

 

The party was a complete culture mash-up. Melanie has been in Seoul for more than a year and studies Korean, so a few of her Korean friends were there. They were far outnumbered, however, by the Jews. (How often does that happen?) It was nice to see so many familiar faces and catch up with friends I hadn’t seen in awhile. Melanie headed back to New York last week, where she is getting over the last of her jet-lag before starting her senior year at NYU.

 

Melanie releasing her inner child...with a small child.

Melanie releasing her inner child...with a small child.

 

 

DSC03393

I may have lingered too long before taking my shot. Less candid, more what-the-hell-is-Melissa-doing.

I may have lingered too long before taking my shot. Less candid, more what-the-hell-is-Melissa-doing.

 

Of course, saying goodbye is always easier when there's delicious food involved. Thanks to Chabad for catering the party!

Of course, saying goodbye is always easier when there's delicious food involved. Chabad catered the party.

Later that day, Lisa, Tobi and I headed off to Insadong for one last afternoon of shopping before Lisa left for Toronto. After some Baskin Robbins ice cream fondue, we parted said our goodbyes and parted ways.

 

Myself and Lisa, the best Busan travel buddy a girl could hope for.

Me and Lisa, the best Busan travel buddy a girl could hope for.

Saying goodbyes are never fun, but these two were a bit different. I know I’ll see Melanie in New York this winter, and Lisa and I are discussing plans for a Niagara meet-up at some point after I get back to the States. I’ve become too preoccupied with my own departure, and all the hassles and craziness that come with it, to dwell on the fact that many of my close friends have left in recent weeks. Kind of nutso to think that in 20 days, I’ll be headed to Incheon Airport, never to return to Korea (cue dramatic music!).

