One of the most exhausting slash entertaining parts of my job is teaching kindies. These kids can be as young as 3 (and still in diapers) to 6 years old. They usually speak very little English. At most, they’ll know the alphabet and a few simple words. At the very least, they’re adorable. They usually come into school with brightly colored backpacks and matching uniforms, and stand awkwardly in the lobby as SEV teachers swoon over them from afar. The kids are damn cute, what do you expect from us?

The programming team recently revamped the kindy program, expanding it to include classes such as Talk Show, Culture, Economy (how I teach a 4 year old about the economy, but don’t understand it myself is beyond me), etc. A few weeks ago, I taught kindy Library/Science, with each class only 20 minutes long. Library was a breeze. We just reviewed the alphabet and then I read them a book. Science was slightly more challenging, since I know absolutely nothing about anything related to science. (Mr. Gallagher, my 7th grade teacher, will vouch for me there. Come to think of it, so will virtually every science teacher I’ve had since middle school.)

The one thing I DO remember from childhood is simulating a volcano eruption using red food dye, baking soda and vinegar. So in my class, I combined the three in a beaker and created a mini-eruption. The kids shrieked with delight as the bubbly mixture foamed over the glass rim, then immediately swarmed me asking if they could do it too. I let each kid make his own volcano, one at a time. It didn’t matter how many times the kids had already seen the “eruption,” each time they squealed and screamed as though it  was the first time.

 

Loading it up...

Loading it up...

 

...pouring the vinegar...

...pouring the vinegar...

...ERUPTION!!!!!

...ERUPTION!!!!!

