Our final swimming class of the summer concluded today, putting an end to several things, most notably my awesome tanning sessions, being turned into human monkey bars and, of course, aquarobics. Back in June, SEV’s scheduler asked teachers if anyone would like to help choreograph the aquarobics dances for summer camp. I immediately volunteered, because leading aquarobics guaranteed that I would have more swimming classes each week than most teachers.

Jeanette, Lydia, Shelly and I were given six hours of programming to come up with a couple routines. After three wasted hours brainstorming sick dance moves to “Let’s Get Loud,” Jeanette and I ended up settling for the “Cha Cha Slide,” which needs no creative thought. Lydia and Shelly came up with a solid “Hey Mickey” dance, and Kyle, the head Korean teacher, “taught” us “YMCA.”

The result: whining kids, schvitzing teachers dancing in 90-degree weather and a memorable summer. Swimming class was easily one of the highlights of summer camp. What’s better than being paid to dance around and play with kids in a pool? Precisely, nothing.

 

The kids have to do warm-ups before they can swim. I took pictures of them doing jumping jacks in an effort to avoid doing them myself. Success!

The kids have to do warm-ups before they can swim. I took pictures of them doing jumping jacks in an effort to avoid doing them myself. Success!

 

 

 

Some volleyball action

Some volleyball action

DSC03339

DSC03323

Three hours in the sun can be exhausting…

 

Just ask Tira!

Just ask Tira!

I’ve found that Asians are very cautious when it comes to their skin during the summer. In the Philippines, it was almost impossible to find sunblock without whitening agents. Here at SEV, some of the staff cover up in long sleeves and pants to avoid the sun. They’ve got to be so hot!

 

Tony spent the entire afternoon in a long-sleeved black shirt! I don't know how he didn

Tony spent the entire afternoon in a long-sleeved black shirt! I don't know how he didn't suffer heat stroke.

 

I called Tira "Ajumma Teacher" all summer, because when she has swimming class, she dressed like an old woman, an ajumma. She leaves all of this on when she goes in the pool!

I called Tira "Ajumma Teacher" all summer, because when she has swimming class, she dressed like an old woman, an ajumma. She leaves all of this on when she goes in the pool!

Now that summer camp is over, the pool will be drained (which shouldn’t take too long–the water only came up to our hips!) and we’ll go back to teaching real classes instead of lounging in the sun. On the upside, only six more Mondays left of teaching!!! This next month is the final stretch–full of goodbyes, packing and figuring out what happens next. And for better or for worse, I guarantee that whatever comes after Korea won’t involve the “YMCA” or “Hey Mickey.”

DSC03333

