Every day off this summer has been a struggle. How do I convince myself to do something other than lounge around the pool and read? On the rare occasion that I do something worthwhile (aside from work on my tan), I usually end up having a pretty decent time. Case in point: two weeks ago. Mimsie and I both had Wednesday off, so we met up at Seoul Grand Park, home to the city’s zoo. Half-expecting a dilapidated building with sad, depressed animals, I was pleasantly surprised to find that the zoo was one of the nicer ones I’ve been to.

DSC02954

Inside the zoo was pretty much everything you’d expect to see. There was an insectarium (grosssssss), a giraffe pit, a hippo lagoon and enough monkeys and jungle cats to entertain Tarzan for a lifetime.

The highlight of the day came mid-afternoon in the kangaroo habitat. Why, you ask? Well, have you ever pet and fed an kangaroo? That’s what I thought. Every day the zoo allows visitors into the kangaroo zone to play with the animals. I made friends with one kangaroo in particular–he wasn’t too big or too tiny, and he always wanted to play with me (or at least eat the food in my hand).

He also liked my camera.

He also liked my camera.

 DSC02974

After we befriended the kangaroos, we made the acquaintance of a little girl with impressive English. I heard her talking excitedly to her parents, so I said to her, “Chinjcha!? (Really!?)” and she looked over, gasped and said, “You speak Korean???” After that, she wouldn’t leave us alone. I’m not sure if she wanted us to speak to her in English or Korean, but she delighted when we said anything in either language. As we were leaving, she asked us something in Korean that neither Mimsie nor I understood. After we said we didn’t know, she put her hands on her hips and said, “You don’t know your own name!?” Laughing, we introduced ourselves and said goodbye.

Aside from the kangaroo feeding, the zoo was pretty much on par with every zoo I’ve been to in the States. I didn’t feel ripped off, the animals weren’t living in squalid conditions and the zoo offered a wide variety of things to see, as well as interactive activities for kids and adults (and whatever category I fall into)

DSC02980

 

Pig-headed turtle!!! Now that's a turtle I'd actually fear.

Pig-headed turtle!!! Now that's a turtle I'd actually fear.

.DSC02960

King of the jungle!

King of the jungle!

 

Rabbit habitat? Oh no. This was the fox home. Awful!!!

Rabbit habitat? Oh no. This was the fox home.

Hello, miniature Lion King set

Hello, miniature Lion King set

 

Cute kid

Cute kid

Cute Melissa? Note the giant tiger in the background

Cute Melissa? Note the giant tiger in the background

Forty-eight more days, people. Forty-eight days.

