It’s pretty clear that until my “Korean Kountdown” self-challenge began, I was not a constant blogger. It’s not my fault, you see. I had a schedule that allowed me to sleep until noon, stay out until the early hours of the morning and relax by the pool on the rare day I was up before lunch. I’ve since switched to day shift, but even that hasn’t had much of an impact on my blogging. You must be asking yourself this: What on earth is Melissa doing? What is so important that she is kept from blogging for days at a time?

The answer, friends, is simple. I’ve been caught up in the nastiest of love triangles. I’ve had my heart ripped out, stepped and spat on. The past few weeks have not been good for my tear ducts. For all of my heartbreak and sadness, there is only one thing to blame: Boys Before Flowers.

The best way to relate to kids here is to immerse yourself in the things they like. Music, check. I can’t tell you what songs are big in New York right now, but I can dance along to Superjunior’s “Sorry Sorry” and rap the English portion of the Wondergirls’ “Nobody.” Music, check. Next up, television.

But how do you watch Korean television when the shows are in Korean? Additionally, how do you watch the shows that the kids watch and not want to absolutely die?

The answer is on mysoju.com. The Web site provides links to subtitled Korean movies and TV shows. It is thanks (or no thanks?) to mysoju and my friends at SEV that I’ve been sucked into the sickest of love triangles. I’m become a diehard fan of the popular 꽃보다 남자, or as the waegooks call it, Boys Before Flowers. The 26 episodes, based on the Japanese series Hana Yori Dango, follow the lives of the boys of an elite private school clique known as F4 (Flower Four, how manly) and how their lives change as a result of a working-class girl who is forced to attend their school.

Any free time I have during the day is reserved for BBF–lunchtime, breaks between classes, you name it. I’ve finished 15 of the hour-long episodes, and I don’t know how I can stand to watch any more. I cannot tell you the number of times I’ve been brought to tears by the love triangle between Gu Jun Pyo, heir to Korea’s largest company; Yoon Ji Hoo, a Julliard-trained musician and the love of my life; and Geum Jan Di, the spunky daughter of a dry cleaner who transfers to the elite school. Jan Di, a newcomer at the school, stands up to the mean, bullying Jun Pyo, becoming the first person to do so. Intrigued by her stubbornness and the fact that nobody has ever treated him like that before, Ju Pyo begins to fall for Jan Di. The only catch? Ji Hoo’s love for Jan Di, as well as Jun Pyo’s cruel and meddling mother, who will stop at nothing to keep Jan Di and Jun Pyo apart.

Watching the characters break up and reconcile over and over has turned my world upside-down. This is worse than Addison/Derek/Meredith or Karen/Jim/Pam. I’ve discussed my inner pain with Sarah, who agreed with me when I compared my emotions post-episode watching to going through a serious breakup. My stomach twists and turns, the tears flow, and before I know it, my whole day is ruined. Think I’m overreacting? Watch and see for yourself. Try one or two episodes and tell me it’s not quality television. Go on, I dare you.

boys-before-flowers1-1

