Some clarification: At some point during your day in America, a blog post will be put up. And seeing as how it’s still Wednesday in America, I’m in the clear. Glad we got that covered.

If there’s one thing that has always astounded me, it’s the way our female students treat some of the male teachers. Case in point, my friend Eric, who was here for winter camp and came back to work the summer. During winter camp, we started telling students that we were engaged. We made up a really elaborate, inconceivable story that, for some reason, these kids believe. We took it a step further this summer and cope and pasted our faces onto a picture of a Korean couple in traditional hanbok attire, which is now used during the graduation slideshow.

slideshow photo

Back to my original point. The girls who come to SEV absolutely love Eric. They are always searching for him during class breaks and asking teachers, “Where’s Eric teacher? Have you seen Eric teacher!?” During winter camp, one girl literally wrote his name more than 100 times all over her pencil case. That same day, a group of girls tackled me to the floor after hearing about my “engagement.” After I told a girl yesterday about the fakegagement, she started crying and Mimsie spent ten minutes rubbing her back and consoling her. Some of these girls seriously think they have a chance with guys who are two or three times their age. How do you deal with kids like that?

Eric’s not the only one with that problem. There are a few guys who are, for lack of a better comparison, the Lennon, McCartney, Harrison and Starr of SEV. A few girls performed at the talent show last night (more on the talent show in another post) and told Mimsie that they were changing the lyrics of a Korean pop song to “I love my Paul.” In my ESL class this week, I asked the kids to write an essay about their time at SEV and to include what they thought about the teachers, among other things. In an effort to get some bonus points, the kids all obviously listed me. But aside from that, they named three male teachers, none of whom had taught them more than a couple times all camp.

Some of us were discussing this last night. While most of the kids we get are in elementary school and their obsessions are funny and cute, some of the girls are around 14 years old. That’s got to be awkward for these guys. The girls don’t look 14 (we easily confuse them with the Korean staff–a lot) and they’re throwing themselves at these guys who are, in some cases, old enough to be their father. If this wasn’t a school and the a girl didn’t say how old she was, so many awkward situations might ensue. 

It’s also important to note that our male students would never act this way. There are no female teachers with harems of men, no poems written, no names scribbled in a notebook. The closest I’ve come was the other day, when one of my older students, C (not to be confused with his friends Q, J and B), ran up to me, grabbed my umbrella and held it above me as we walked to class. That’s as close to Prince Charming as I’m going to get here, I suppose.

This whole situation has got me thinking: Have we ever been this bad? My middle school diary is a testament my adolescent craziness, but I couldn’t imagine ever acting like the girls at our school. Mimsie made an interesting point yesterday: Maybe we are just as bad, but we don’t vocalize our crushes and throw ourselves at guys the way these girls do. I don’t know how they can shamelessly throw themselves at the teachers. I’m also not sure whether to be impressed with their ballsiness or embarrassed for them. Tough call, no?

As funny and entertaining as these girls are, let’s add them to the “Something I won’t miss about Korea” category. It’s all fun and games until someone gets taken down in a basement bathroom, people.

