Donny, our recruiter, is one of the few office workers who hangs out with the foreign teachers outside of school. A basic evening out with Donny will include dinner at a traditional Korean restaurant and a ton of soju. That’s what we anticipated several weeks ago when Donny wanted to go out for food and drinks after work one day. Our first stop was a galbi (barbeque) restaurant in Suyu that serves delicious beef. (After nine months here, I’ve decided that you don’t need any culinary skills to open a restaurant here–the customers end up doing all the cooking!) Wish I’d taken a picture of our table before we devoured virtually everything on it (meat, salads, soup, kimchi), but here you can see the damage we inflicted:

 

Carnage.

Carnage.

After dinner, instead of going for drinks, we decided to hit up our local hangout, Baskin Robbins. Suyu’s got two of them, right across the street from each other. Here’s how you know you go to Baskin Robbins too often: the girl behind the counter asks you in broken English if you live in Suyu. Why yes, yes I do. And thanks for knowing exactly what size ice cream I’m going to get, saves me the trouble of specifying “single regular” (going rate: 2,500 won) every time I go in.

Anyway, back to the story. Baskin Robbins advertises this beautiful ice cream fondue. We’ve been talking about for months–literally, months. We finally took the plunge and ordered it-12,000 won for 20 balls of ice cream, warm chocolate and a platter of fruit and bite-sized cakes.

DSC02587Ten minutes later:

 

Finishee, except for the tomatoes. Come on, who serves fondue with tomatoes as a dipper?!

Finishee, except for the tomatoes. Come on, who serves fondue with tomatoes as a dipper?!

After the fondue (two split between six of us), I thought we were about ready to call it quits. But no, no we were not. Oliver took it upon himself to order an entire quart of ice cream for us to eat.

 

Donny, just prior to dig-in

Donny eyeing the ice cream

Not long after that was taken, we devoured the entire thing. Then, something unexpected happened:

"Does anyone want Pizza Hut? My treat..."-Donny

"Does anyone want Pizza Hut? My treat..."-Donny

And off we went to Pizza Hut. At that point, we were down to five people, as Sarah had wisely dropped out, but Donny still felt it necessary to order two large pizzas and three Cokes.

DSC02602We somehow managed to eat most of the pizza, but four piece remained. Who would finish them? We were all stuffed to the brim:

DSC02598But then…out of nowhere…

 

Andrew showed up and saved the day!

Andrew showed up and saved the day!

A week later, Donny wanted to go out for dinner again. There was this place, he told us, where the burgers were juicy and delicious and not absurdly priced. Off we went to Smokey’s Saloon in Apgujeong, which I mentioned in my Independence Day post. I got that heart attack on a bun, the “Kiss Me Later,” and somehow managed to finish it all.

DSC02625After burgers, Donny wanted wings, so we walked down to Hooters to satisfy his craving. Hooters in Korea is perhaps the most misnamed restaurant in the world. The uniforms are the same tank top and booty shorts, but the girls who work at the restaurant do not have the same proportions as Western girls.

 

Even when she bends over, there is no cleavage. Sad story.

Even when she bends over, there is no cleavage. Sad story.

I’ve never been to a Hooters in the States, but I’m guessing you won’t find the waitresses perform a dance routine in front of patrons.

Immediately after: “I want to be one”-Mimsie

We finally got our wings, and I must admit, I was pretty disappointed. I’m a stickler when it comes to eating chicken wings. I won’t eat them in front of anyone I’m not closely related to, which means that up until this point, only my mother, father and sister had seen me eat them. Why? Because eating wings is perhaps the most unattractive thing a person could possibly do, and I refuse to let anyone, except for those who are obligated to love me, see me in such a state. I broke with that theory at Hooters and was surprised to find that the world did not end. Though, it should be said, I eventually tried eating a wing with a fork and knife. Oliver hasn’t let me live that one down yet.

DSC02634

After the wings and beer, you’d think we’d be done, right? No. Off to Coldstone Creamery to indulge Bex, who still calls it “Stone Cold.”

 

Remnants...I forgot to take out my camera before we dug in

Remnants...I forgot to take out my camera before we dug in

 

Oliver summing up how we all felt

Oliver summing up how we all felt

Donny still wasn’t ready to go home, so we headed to noraebang (literally: “song room”), where we sang such classics as TLC’s “No Scrubs” and Nirvana’s “Smells Like Teen Spirit” and Donny serenaded us with Tom Jones’ “Sex Bomb.” Took a video of us breaking out the Beastie Boys (speaking of which, this blog is wishing Adam Yauch a speedy recovery), but there is no way in hell it’s going on here. Noraebang is definitely one of those things more fun to experience for yourself than to see a video of.

After an hour and a half at noraebang, we headed home, but not before posing with the random statues outside of the building:

DSC02641Our second night of binge eating complete, we swore not to let Donny rope us into any more food parties. Oh, and I’ve scheduled this post to go up as I head out to Itaewon to meet up with Donny and company for 30-cent wings at Rocky Mountain Tavern. I swear that’s all we’re going to eat. Well, maybe some schwarma…

