And now more than ever, I’m living on a prayer.  I arrived in Seoul on September 30, just over six months ago.  It’s been an insane journey, to say the least.  I never imagined spending a year in Korea, but now I can’t imagine not doing this.  There have been good times and bad times, but the highs definitely outnumber the lows.  And while it’s sad to think that this adventure is halfway done, I can now begin the Melissa-Comes-Back-To-America/Endless Mac and Cheese/Subaru Forester countdown.

Leaving things, people and places is sad.  And though my time here is far from over, I can’t help but think that I won’t miss Seoul like I’ve missed other places.  There is much about Korea that I don’t necessarily agree with, but that’s a post for another time.

I do want to address what’s going on with North Korea, because, well, how could I not?  When news of North Korea’s rocket launch made waves on CNN a few weeks ago, South Koreans didn’t pay much attention.  At least, not the ones I know.  It gets minimal coverage in the Korea Herald, which is distributed for free at school.  Only today did I seriously talk about it with Donny, SEV’s recruiter.  He said a war is possible, depending on what happens in the coming weeks.  While the situation is clearly nerve-wracking, I’m trying not to dwell on it.  Impending doom is a small part of life here, yes, but living in Seoul is about much more than worrying about our neighbor to the north.  In Israel, it was easy to forget that I was in the middle of a country in a constant state of unrest.  It was only when I checked out an American news outlet or spoke to people at home that I even gave the situation a second thought.  That’s exactly how I feel now in Seoul.  So seriously, don’t worry about me.  If anything happens, I’ll either be decimated in a matter of seconds, or I’ll hightail it back to America, far away from [that turrible knucklehead] Kim Jong Il.

