Yokohama, Japan

Japan is AWESOME.  Let me start off with that.  Walking around here feels like I’m walking around an American city.  Albeit a quirky American city with a lot of Asians.  Being here makes me realize not only how modern Japan is, but how blast-from-the-past Seoul (and specifically my neighborhood) is.

The flight over was awesome.  I picked a window seat and enjoyed the view above the Sea of Japan for the two-hour flight, which was delayed because the plane had to be de-iced before we took off.  When I first got on the plane, I thought I was in the wrong area, because I had a coach ticket, and my seat was anything but coach.  It reclined all the way back, which was perfect, considering the three hours of sleep I got the night before.

When I got in from the airport, I followed the directions Nadav gave me to get to Yokohama, where he would meet me.  The directions were fantastic, but took longer than either one of us expected, so I got to his station, Fujikaoka, about three hours after I left the airport.  Along the way, I grabbed a bite to eat at one of the subway stations.  The first thing I had was a chicken and potato salad sandwich.  Well, half was chicken, the other half potato salad.  Weird, yet delicious.  The second thing I ate was some sort of little pastry with a brown sugary mixture inside.  After that first bite, I realized I really, REALLY loved Japan.

So once I finally got to Fujikaoki, Nadav and I set off to Shibuya, where we walked around and I drank a Dr. Pepper (my first in four months).  We tried to visit a shrine, but it was closed by the time we got there.  We’re going to try going again today.

Nadav has been an awesome tour guide so far.  He’s got a break from school, so he’s showing me all the good stuff.

Speaking of which, we’re about to head out.  Will update soon!!

