Seriously, though. Disclaimer: This blog post sounds horribly sad and lonely, when in reality, I am anything but.

Sometimes I forget how young I am. The first time that I was made painfully aware of the fact that I was a good six months behind most of my grade-school friends was in the sixth grade, when I got a note from my elementary school best friend Laura, apologizing for not inviting me to some get-together with our other friends:

“It’s not that we don’t like you. You’re just so much more immature than the rest of us. Sometimes I forget how young you are, because we are six months older than you. I mean, you only turned 11 in November.”

Last I checked, Laura was heavily tattooed, married and living in Alaska, and the last six friend comments on her Myspace are about drinking patron, being a wino and going to a bar. I’m glad to see that eleven years later, she is still so much more mature than me.

OK, I got distracted again. The point of this post is that, just a week shy of 22, I am again reminded of how young I am compared to the people surrounding me. Before moving to Korea, I was under the impression that most of the people who came over here to teach were my age, fresh out of college and unsure of the next step. Upon my arrival, I was surprised to discover several things. First of all, I am the youngest teacher here (by about five months). Secondly, most of the other teachers are in their mid to late 20s, and a few are in their 30s. When I came into this, I did so with the idea that my time here would be like the gap year I never took after high school, but after meeting other teachers here, I am realizing that I could legitimately do this for several years before settling down, and travel virtually wherever I want. And believe me, it’s tempting–spending my 20s traveling the world, being my own Samantha Brown.

On the other hand, I have a degree in journalism and a legitimate love for this dying industry. I miss the feel of a newsroom. I miss editing copy. I even miss late nights spent doing reads and marking up pages. My future is in journalism, not in teaching. There are people who go into education because they love it, but I’m not one of them.

But I think part of being 22 is that I have so much time to figure this all out. I know that eventually I’ll wind up back in the States, and in journalism, but I’ve got to admit, I am awfully curious to see the path I’m going to take to get there.

