Today in class, I asked the kids to guess where I was from, as I often do with my classes. Though after today, I might never pose that question again. Why, you ask? Because half the class started insisting that not only was I from Africa, but that I painted my skin white. I asked them why they thought this, and one little girl jumped up and–I kid you not–pointed to my ass. Folks, I could not make this up. We live in a world where nine-year-old Korean children not only know what a ghetto booty is, but feel no shame in pointing it out.

As if that wasn’t enough absurdity for one day, this evening I went to Community Cafe for some hot chocolate and Hemingway, but was distracted early on by a book on one of the shelves. It’s some sort of book about American history that uses cartoons to illustrate the entire thing. While not entirely PC, it was wholly entertaining.

Unbias journalism?

Unbias journalism? Also, does this mean that Ben Slivnick can become president? For the sake of honest journalism, let me just say that this was not in the book, but in a section of the Korea Herald specifically for Koreans learning English.

dsc00781

This is absolutely horrible
dsc00807

As if one cartoon of an Indian being shot wasn't enough...

I'm...pretty sure this never happened.

I'm...pretty appalled by this as well

Wow.

Wow.

The history of the Jews, according to the most absurd book in Korea.

The history of the Jews, according to the most absurd book in Korea.

How the Koreans view the past eight years.  I must say, pretty dead-on, no?

How Koreans view the past eight years. I must say, pretty dead-on, no?

dsc00811

There you have a taste of it. The rest of the pictures are posted on Facebook, so feel free to check them out.

