Oh, October 31st. While all of you in America and Canada were drinking, dressing like sluts and making poor choices, it was, sadly, just another day on the Korean calendar. Koreans, as well as a majority of the world’s population, do not celebrate Halloween, which is really a shame, considering I get it twice a year (it’s one of the perks to being a conservative Jew-Purim AND Halloween). Luckily for us here at SEV, we celebrate it with the kids the weekend beforehand. Getting ready this year got me thinking about Halloweens past, so hop into your Delorean and let us recall the Halloweens of my young adult life.

Truth be told, every Halloween from age 0-15 sort of blends together into one convoluted mess of Disney princess, American Girl doll and Supergirl costumage. I emerged from that cocoon during my senior year of high school, when I missed out on Halloween entirely to attend my youth group’s Fall Kinnus in Albany. I actually took a four-hour hiatus from the convention to take the SAT IIs the next morning up. When I got back to Kingston that night, my mother told me that my aunt, with whom I had been very close, had passed away on Halloween. Worst Halloween weekend ever.

Halloween 2004 could only be better, right? I was a freshman in college and looking forward to dressing like a slut and strutting my stuff all over College Park (sorry Mom and Dad). My friend Josh was at UDel the day before to play hockey, and decided drive the extra hour to come visit me for the weekend. During the day, we went into Washington to walk around and grab dinner at a great tapas place in Chinatown (otherwise known as one of four restaurants I have gone to for a meal in the District–I am, after all, a devoted Kramerbooksite). While in Chinatown, we went into Urban Outfitters, where Josh bought a straw hat and I purchased a shirt that said “I’m proud to be a farmer’s daughter.” That night, we ended up wearing our Urban finds to a stranger’s house party, where I experienced my first ice luge (helloooooo, rite of passage) and made out with a guy dressed as a woman (sorry again, Mom and Dad). Anyhow, here’s one of the pictures I scrounged up from Webshots. My costume is pretty weak, and Josh had taken off the hat my that point. Not the finest of years in terms of creativity, to be perfectly honest.

Josh left for Binghamton the next day, and a few hours later I got a phone call from a high school friend, telling me that the mother of a guy I dated before coming to college passed away that morning after a very brief bout with cancer. So much for change. Second worst Halloween ever.

In 2005, I went into Halloween weekend wondering what horrible things would befall me that year. I was pleasantly surprised to find that nothing went awry, for once. I dressed as a pirate. Sort of. I’d been diagnosed with tonsillitis a few days beforehand, so I was incredibly under the weather, despite being heavily drugged. At the last minute, I threw on a striped shirt and short black skirt and made my way to a frat party, armed with a bottle of water because I was on antibiotics.

My friend Mitch and I.  I have absolutely no idea what he was dressed as.  I just know this picture is infinitely better than the other one from the same night--myself with my friend Zack, dressed as an eight-foot-tall penis.

My friend Mitch and I. I have absolutely no idea what he was dressed as. I just know this picture is infinitely better than the other one from the same night--myself with my friend Zack, who was dressed as an eight-foot-tall penis.

Halloween 2006 was infinitely better than the previous three, mostly because I wasn’t sick and nobody died. I was in Prague, and the owner of a nearby restaurant was throwing my building a Halloween party, since most of us were Americans and Brits. I decided to jump on the pop culture wagon and went as a pregnant Britney Spears. My finest hour? No, but a damn good costume.

I'm surrounded by Eurotrash and Greek goddess.  Happy Halloween.

I'm surrounded by Eurotrash and a Greek goddess. God help me.

You can't really see it, but my hat says sLOVEnia.  Only in Eastern Europe, kids.  Only in Eastern Europe...

You can't really see it, but my hat says sLOVEnia. Only in Eastern Europe...

By the time Halloween 2007 came around, I was back in the States and ready to do it the good old American way (that’s what she said?). Costume brainstorming was time-consuming, but I did come up with such ideas as The Diamondback (what’s black and white and not red/read at all?) or teaming up with someone and going as a Duke lax player and the stripper (which is now even funnier, considering that less than two months later, my good friend Stef began dating one of the three accused of rape). Anyhow, lacking for truly good and original ideas, I stole my friend Margalit’s Purim costume idea and went as a black eyed pea. This costume involved minimal effort, some cutting of construction paper and a whole lot of eye makeup.

Apparently the Greek goddess thing is big.  Then again, who doesn't want to don a dirndl?

Apparently the Greek goddess thing is big. And who doesn't want to don a dirndl?

So here we are in 2008. Now out of college and working with children, it is no longer socially acceptable for me to be a slutty anything or any kind of wench. However, in retrospect, I think I’ve been pretty good about staying mostly clothed. This year, I borrowed tiger ears and a tail from my friend Jennifer and went as a tiger. I even wore yoga pants instead of leggings because they’re more kid-appropriate.

A little blurry, but you get the idea

A little blurry, but you get the idea

A bunch of us teachers before class

A bunch of us teachers before class

The problem with wearing a tail around children is that they like to invade personal space. If I had a won for every time a small child grabbed at my tail…well, you get the idea. To make them stop, I’d have to shimmy around until they jumped back in a fit of giggles. Funny, that same trick doesn’t seem to work when I’m dancing with unsavory characters at the bars…

All in all, this was a solid Halloween. My only true disappointment this year was that I missed out on seeing several hundred thousand slutty Sarah Palins. Oh well, maybe (but hopefully not) next year, right?

Oh, and I guess I should show you some of the cute kindies we had this past week. Stolen from my friend Jeanette, these pictures will melt your heart. Seriously.

I'm pretty sure there were at least three other Buzz Lightyears that morning.

I'm pretty sure there were at least three other Buzz Lightyears that morning.

Wizards are an ever-popular costume

Wizards are an ever-popular costume, apparently

CUTEST CHILD EVER

CUTEST CHILD EVER

A Southern belle?  Little Bo Peep?  I have no idea, but she is absolutely adorable.

A Southern belle? Little Bo Peep? I have no idea, but she is absolutely adorable.

Can I just take them home with me?  Please?

Can I just take them home with me? Please?

