Well, Carly Simon I suppose I am not. Also, no horse of mine won. I have terrible luck at horse races, which probably explains why I don’t really enjoy going to them. Though a Maryland resident for four years, I avoided Preakness every May. I blame this on my early experiences at the Saratoga Race Track (hot, humid upstate New York summers, the time the power went out at the track for hours, etc.). My mother and sister love it; however, I cannot say the same. I think my favorite part of going to the race track is getting dressed up and taking cute pictures. My mother and sister could care less about that and just want to make some money off the horses. And so, yet again, I am the black sheep of the Weiss family. The well-dressed black sheep.

Anyway, last weekend I went to the Seoul Race Course, site of some of the 1988 Olympic events, with some friends, and I had a surprisingly good time, to which I credit the warm weather, good company and the free-flowing wine that we smuggled in and drank out of dixie cup-sized containers. The track itself, in addition to having gorgeous views, was gigantic (seating for 40,000, I believe. How ’bout that, Byrd Stadium at Chevy Chase Field!).

Inside was floor after floor of squatting, spitting Korean men watching the races. We ended up spending about half the time in the “foreigners’ box” before moving outside to get a closer view. The foreigners’ box, in contrast to the rest of the area for watching the races, was awesome and had extremely comfortable seats, not to mention a ridiculous view of the mountains beyond the track.

You would think that because I grew up in a family that loves going to the track, I would know how to, by the age of 21, pick some decent horses. Well, wrong! Wrong, wrong, wrong! I suck at it. In fact, I’ve gotten so bad at picking horses according to their stats that I have resorted to picking my ticket according to horse name. Which would explain why I didn’t win a single thing at Saratoga this summer (damn you, Crazy Cat Lady…I had such a good feeling about you!). It would also explain why I didn’t win a single thing here in Seoul. Only a couple people I was with won anything, so I wasn’t the only loser.

Horses doing their thang...losing my money

Horses doing their thang...losing my money

Suited up Asian dudes waiting for the next race

Suited up Asian dudes waiting for the next race

Cool horse-esque design mowed into the grass outside the track

Cool horse-esque design mowed into the grass outside the track

The weather was really nice, and the company very good, so even though I left the race course a few thousand won poorer, my previous disdain for the races had vanished, and while I’m not sure I’ll go back to this course, I’ll probably give Saratoga another shot. That is, provided my family looks cute.

Speaking of looking cute, we worked up quite an appetite at the track and then went out for Indian food in Dongdaemun. After dinner, while walking back to the subway, we came across a sidewalk vendor selling clothing and shoes. Having been blessed with Asian-sized feet, I had to stop and browse. Browsing turned into buying when I spotted a pair of gorgeous red pumps, which I snatched up for 3,000 won (around 2 bucks).

These shoes were made for walkin'...or not walkin', they seem pretty uncomfortable for long-haul days

These shoes were made for walkin'...or not walkin', they seem pretty uncomfortable for long-haul days

No idea where I’ll wear them, but I’m sure there will be an occasion eventually…

