Several times since coming to SEV, I’ve taught Song.  In Song, which is a group activity, kids from 3-7 teams listen to a song and try to fill in the missing lyrics on a worksheet we give them.  You know that song “Isn’t She Lovely” by Stevie Wonder?  Yeah, call me uncultured, but I didn’t until I began teaching Song.  Now I’ve placed a temporary moratorium on it.  In my classes, we play a lot of ABBA, which is cool, and Westlife, which I had also never heard of before coming here.  Since last week, I have had two songs stuck in my head.  The first is ABBA’s “I Have a Dream.”

I’m not even a huge ABBA fan (my knowledge prior to seeing Mamma Mia! was limited to “Dancing Queen”) but I like this song because it fits with my life right now.  I’m at the point where I know where I’ll be for the next year, but past that, I haven’t a clue.  The future is a blank slate, and while it does feel like at times I’m just pushing through darkness, I know I’ll end up where I need to be.

The second song that won’t seem to go away is British sensation Westlife’s “My Love.”  I admit to being a boy-band fan in my heyday (after all, my first concert was *NSYNC) and even today, I don’t dislike the music.  In fact, I like the Backstreet Boys.  There, I said it.  I get made fun of for a lot of the music I like (I don’t care, Meatloaf is still wonderful, no matter what anyone says or how unattractive he gets.  And Willie Nelson is always on my mind.), and that’s fine.  I’ve accepted the fact that I like terrible music, even if my friends have not.

Which is why it’s not the worst thing that I have “My Love” stuck in my head.  Youtube won’t let me embed the video, but I’ve linked to it here, so you can see exactly what has been running through my head every waking second since Saturday (keep in mind that as I write this, it’s Tuesday night here).  I wish I had some deep thoughts regarding this song, but as is the case with so many teen-angst boy-band pop hits, no such luck.

I don’t have Song again until Thursday, so maybe, just maybe, ABBA and Westlife will take a day-long respite.

