…and I don’t like that one bit.  So I promise to make more of an effort to update a lot.  A lot a lot.  Starting now!

Last week was our first full week of teaching.  I taught Art, Cooking and Ultimate Frisbee (Cohen, correct me on capitalization, please, if I’m wrong.  I’ve been away from my Stylebook for too long.), all of which were pretty easy and enjoyable for the kids.  In Art, I introduced them to the concept of still life and had them sketch a stool covered with fake fruit and flowers.  I couldn’t believe the detail some of the kids used-they’re probably more artistic at age eight than I am now.  In Cooking, we baked cupcakes.  A lot of cupcakes.  Tuesday, I had four Cooking classes in a row.  I had batter everywhere-literally.  It was in my hair, on my name tag, on my shoes (if anyone has any idea how to get dried batter out of Naot, let me know please!  It looks like a bird took a dump on my shoe!).  The upside to Cooking is that the teachers come by in between classes to swipe a cupcake or two, so that’s always fun.  In Ultimate, the kids basically just play a quick game of it.  Right now I’m the only girl that teaches it (I think), but Erin’s getting trained to do it this week.

I have some group activities, which I lead with other teachers.  Today I had two period of Kareoke.  Let’s just say I’ve heard kids butcher “Dancing Queen,” “YMCA,” “Isn’t She Lovely” and “All You Need Is Love” wayyyy too many times today.  Some of the kids get really into it though, and that’s always cool.  One group chose a slower song and put their arms around each other and swayed as they sang-ADORABLE!

Thursday was Yom Kippur, and coincidently, my day off.  I went to services led by the local Chabad rabbi, (in typical Chabad fashion) played with a small child and stayed for a few hours.  The fast, while pretty easy (considering most every day is a fast of sorts here-I still haven’t warmed entirely to Korean food), was nowhere near as fun as last year’s fast at school.  Broke the fast with our leftover Outback, which I craftily reheated on Erin’s hot plate.  After dinner, we decided to grab some ice cream in the main part of Suyu.  After ice cream we ended up meeting up with a lot of the teachers at the local hangout, a pub/restaurant called Penelope’s.  I haven’t even been in Seoul two weeks, yet I’ve been to Penelope’s three times.

Our other day off was yesterday (SEV has kids on the weekends as well, so I’ll usually be working one weekend day and have a day off during the week), and Erin and I hit up the Korean War Museum.  The museum had a ton of stuff in it, as well as a memorial to all of the U.S. troops who died in the war.  I think I learned more about the Korean War in the afternoon at the museum than I have in 16 years of schooling.  I’ve included some pictures, for your visual enjoyment:

A picture of the memorial I took using my sweet sunglasses trick

A picture of the memorial I took using my sweet sunglasses trick

So part of the museum was about the Vietnam War.  And they had a fake forest.  So naturally, I HAD to pretend like I was hiding from the Vietcong.

So part of the museum was about the Vietnam War. And they had a fake forest. So naturally, I HAD to pretend like I was hiding from the Vietcong.

Best cutout ever!

Best cutout ever!

Really, really old Korean flag

Really, really old Korean flag

So obviously not the real one.  However, stupid me didn't realize it and got really excited for about half a second.  Judge away.

So obviously not the real one. However, stupid me didn't realize that at first. I'm an idiot, I know.

What appears to be an army band.  What I don't understand is what the guy with the powerful gun is doing just mere feet from the guy with the maracas

What appears to be an army band. What I don't get is why there is a man with a guy standing mere feet from the jovial man with maracas!

We happened on a Korean wedding!

We happened upon a Korean wedding!

Seoul in the afternoon sun, from the steps of the memorial

Seoul in the afternoon sun, from the steps of the memorial

When the two Koreas are united, this clock is going to be put on top of a statue and wound up or turned on or whatever you do to make a clock start working

When the two Koreas are united, this clock is going to be put on top of a statue and wound up or turned on or whatever you do to make a clock start working.

And that’s about it for me.  I’m starting to really get settled in my apartment (pictures will come shortly, I promise!) and make it feel like home.  Last week, one of the teachers finished up his contract and left, but not before giving away some of his stuff that he didn’t want to pack and bring with him.  I wound up with a suitcase, an exercise mat and light blue silk sheets.  I’ve never slept on silk sheets before-it’s a much different feeling, if I do say so myself.

Oh, sidenote!  My blog name has changed.  So if I’m on your blogroll, feel free to change the link to my name, if you care that much.  If not, just admire my creativity and enjoy the new name.  And I really do promise to update more often.

With all that, I’m off to bed.  Work tomorrow, then off Tuesday!  Oh, and if you want to see the rest of my pictures, they’re on Facebook.

