It’s Friday. Which means I leave in three days. Which probably means I should start packing. I don’t even know where to begin. How do you cram your life into two suitcases? How do you pack for a year living on the other side of the world? More importantly, how many pairs of shoes should I bring?

Picked up my Visa at the consulate in New York yesterday, started saying my goodbyes…I guess that’s all I really can do, right? I’m starting to freak out. Not in the ‘having second thoughts’ kind of way, but in the ‘Holy crap I’m really doing this’ kind of way.

It’s weird to think that while I’m over there, things in America will continue on as usual. My friends will job hunt and move and get into relationships and and start to become real people, and I’ll miss out on it all. I’ll miss out on an entire year of my friends’ lives. A year full of birthdays, engagements, births, deaths and everything in between.

A lot can happen in a year.

But then again, a lot can happen to me in a year, too.

And if you’d like to continue hearing all about my adventures, keep reading the blog.  I’ll change the name, but the link will be the same.  And download Skype, because I’ve got it and I love it and really, who doesn’t want to hear my lovely voice?

By the way, here is my other contact info, so if anyone is at all inclined to send me letters, care packages, gifts or birthday cards (November 25, save the date!), you have a place to send it to. Special thanks to Erin for asking our boss for it:

Melissa Weiss
Seoul English Village
522 Suyu 6-dong, Gangbuk-gu
Seoul, Korea
142-883

In the words of our friend Lauren, “your street address looks like something from Dr. Suess. In fact, you should just tell people, ‘I’m moving to Gobblty-Gook Street'”

