Yeah, I know Erin and I have been talking about it for what seems like years, but in actuality has only been months. But it is really happening. At the end of the month, Erin and I are actually moving to Seoul, South Korea, to begin the next chapter of our young lives.

We will be teaching at Seoul English Village, which is sort of like an English camp for Korean children. I don’t know exactly what we’ll be doing, but from reading other teachers’ blogs, I am under the impression that we will be recreating everyday scenarios with these kids (such as a post office or police station). We will live on campus in single-bedroom apartments (separate ones, clearly). Our meals, housing and flights are paid for.

Before I go further, I should say that I’ve been meaning to blog about this for awhile and just kept putting it off, but my friend Alia, who is moving to El Salvador in a few days, wrote her “I’m moving, here are all your questions answered” entry, and Erin posted about Korea already. so I should probably follow suit.

So right, Erin and I are moving to Korea. Why? Well, a few reasons. I don’t know all of Erin’s reasons, but I’ve got some of my own. Firstly, I’m 21. That’s too young to integrate myself into the real world, don’t pretend as though it isn’t. Nobody wants to hire a 21 year old. At least, that’s my assumption. I graduated without having applied to a single job; I just telling everyone that things were going to work out and that I was going to Korea. So many of my friends who have recently graduated are living in Washington, working and doing whatever it is that 20-somethings do while living in the nation’s capital. And more power to them. I just knew I wasn’t ready for that. I gchatted with my friend Michelle (who offered up the following line: “I just woke up one day and the world decided i could take care of myself”) the other day, and confirmed my suspicions: The real world is so not ready for me. At least not yet.
For anyone who really knows me, you know that traveling is just sort of what I do. Traveling and acting were my two childhood passions, and I was horrible at the latter. Traveling requires only that you leave behind the familiar and venture into the unknown, and occasionally open your wallet or find others to open theirs for you. Not a problem when you’re 11 and want to go to London for the first time, but a bit of a stumbling block when you’re a college grad and supposed to be paying for your own stuff. So this year will be a good way to save money, both to spend on future travels and to save for the future, whatever the future might be.

Which brings me to my next topic: What will I do post-Korea?

Not a clue. Not a freaking clue. If you had asked me a year ago what I’d be doing in September 2008, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have told you that I’d be teaching in Korea. Just like now, I have no idea what comes next. Some options:

Move to Colorado, work as a copy editor, get a dog and make my apartment really cute.

Move to Alaska, work as a copy editor, get a dog and make my apartment really cute.

Move to Dothan, Alabama, hometown of my friend Rachel. Jews who move there are given up to $50,000 to get settled and whatever. Doesn’t seem so bad, huh?

France? Amsterdam? Prague? I feel like I’m not done living in Europe yet. I guess I just don’t like the idea of settling down in America at the age of 22. I’m not sure what I’d do, but I’m not opposed to international high-class prostitution. Especially if it results in summers in St. Tropez…

I suppose that’s it. In the next few weeks, Erin and I will get our visa issuance numbers, have interviews at our area Korean embassies and officially get our visas. Then we’re on our way!

I just can’t believe it’s all really happening…

