Is it just me, or do this year’s hurricanes have great names? Let’s review the list:

Arthur
Bertha
Cristobal
Dolly
Edouard
Fay
Gustav
Hanna
Ike
Josephine
Kyle
Laura
Marco
Nana
Omar
Paloma
Rene
Sally
Teddy
Vicky
Wilfred

Some of them are stupid, like Teddy. Hurricane Teddy? Who is going to fear Hurricane Teddy? Or Vicky, for that matter. I have a cousin on Long Island named Vicky, and she instills no fear in me. Now, Bertha, on the other hand, that could do some damage. Do you really want several feet of Bertha’s rain dumped on you? No, no you do not.

Now, I know some of the Southern states get into this, but up north, nobody really cares about hurricanes unless the few hours of rain we get cancels a golf game. Which is why I’ve taken to coming up with ideas for hurricane-themed t-shirts. Read on:

“Hello, Dolly!”

“I DON’T like Ike!”

“Cristobal is no ball!”

“No no Nana”

“No me Gustav”

I could make a fortune in this business, really. Well, maybe.

EDIT:  Why is there never a Hurricane Melissa?  Why must I be condemned to virusdom, or as Wikipedia so lovingly puts it, a computer worm?

