There was a girl I went to high school with. Her name was Taylor and she was a year older than me. Taylor took immense pride in her clothes. They weren’t from upscale boutiques or anything, but they weren’t Goodwill, either. They were clothes that you and I would wear, anything someone shopping in a local mall could pick up. Yet she kept a log in the back of her psychology notebook (I only know this because I sat behind her in 11th grade psych and she would show me) of every outfit, complete with accessories, that she had worn, starting with the beginning of the school year. Her objective? Never to repeat an outfit.

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t inspired by this. I dreamt of taking Polaroids of all of my dresses, shirts, pants, jewelry, purses, etc. in an attempt to categorize all of my belongings and make it easier to get dressed in the morning. Any effort would be a step in the right direction for my fashion sense, which for the longest time showed a heavy nautical influence (which I now attribute to the many sailor outfits my parents dressed me in as a child).

It should be noted that immediately after I typed that last sentence, I went upstairs and searched through a closet full of childhood photographs to find the many, many photos of me in sailor garb. Of course, when you’re looking for something, you obviously won’t find it until you are no longer searching. So while I couldn’t find the pictures I was looking for, I found two gems. The first is of my first trip to Washington D.C., at the ripe age of 8.

The second, and now my new favorite, is me proving, yet again, that I rock the nation’s trends. Apparently I was under the impression that I, too, was Michael Jackson.

Anyway, back to my original story. I still think it would be a great idea to catalog all of my clothing and accessories, but I just don’t have the time (though now that I’ve been fired, maybe I will) or energy to do so. And besides, its damn near impossible to get Polaroid film anyhow.

